Board Briefs



May 9, 2024

Work Session Agenda • Board Meeting Agenda • YouTube

District 1: Ms. Heidi Hensley
District 2: Ms. Claudia Butts
District 3: Ms. Linda E. Davis
District 4: Dr. Patricia Yager
District 5: Mr. Tim Denson

District 6: Dr. Mumbi Anderson (President)

District 7: Dr. LaKeisha Gantt District 8: Ms. Nicole Hull, J.D.

District 9: Mr. Mark Evans (Vice President)

Work Session

1. Meeting Opening / Roll Call - start of video

Present:

H. Hensley, C. Butts, L. Davis, P. Yager, T. Denson, M. Anderson, L. Gantt, M. Evans

Absent:

N. Hull

- 2. Board President's Report 0:47 in video
- 3. Financial Updates 7:50 in video
 - · Supporting documents attached in agenda link.
- 4. Discussion of proposed FY2025 General Fund budget and millage rate 14:30 in video
 - Supporting documents attached in agenda link.
- 5. Facilities Report 45:41 in video
 - SPLOST monthly report

- Facilities updates
- Supporting documents attached in agenda link.
- 6. Business Items for Consideration 59:17 in video
 - Supporting documents attached in agenda link.
- 7. Policy Updates 1:02:55 in video
 - Supporting documents attached in agenda link.
- 8. Information Items/Board Community Reports 1:25:50 in video
 - Supporting documents attached in agenda link.
- 9. Executive Session, Adjournment, and Break 1:29::55 in video

Board Meeting

1. Meeting Opening - 2:11:27 in video

Present:

H. Hensley, C. Butts, L. Davis, P. Yager, T. Denson, M. Anderson, L. Gantt, M. Evans

Absent:

N. Hull

2. District and Board Recognitions - 2:13:06 in video

- The 11 district grade-level winners of the 2024 Young Georgia Authors Contest were recognized. In addition, Oglethorpe Avenue Elementary first-grader Ava Bell was recognizing for winning the state award for first grade and was presented with her regional and state awards by Northeast Georgia RESA representatives.
- Clarke Central High School Class of 2024 STAR Student Patrick Allen, STAR Teacher Elliot Slane, Cedar Shoals High School STAR Student Art Conway, and STAR Teacher Brandt Hacker were recognized.
- Six high school students were recognized for being selected as 2024 Governor's Honors
 Program finalists. From Cedar Shoals: Ella Conway. From Clarke Central: Wyatt Meyer, Harper
 White, Peter Atchley, Noah Kilpatrick, and Violet Cantarella.
- Clarke Middle School eighth-grade student Jackson Brooks was recognized for winning the 800-meter run at the 2024 Georgia Middle School Track and Field State Championships.
- The student media organizations at Clarke Central and Cedar Shoals high schools were recognized for winning multiple awards this school year at state, regional, and national competitions.

- Janell Bloom, third-grade teacher at Johnnie Lay Burks Elementary School, was recognized for being named CCSD's Emloyee of the Month for May.
- Leigh Anne Lindsey, STEM teacher at Oglethorpe Avenue Elementary, was recognized for receiving the 2024 Don Cargill STEM Scholar award from Georgia Youth Science & Technology Centers.
- 3. Public Comment 2:38:45 in video
- 4. Adoption of Agenda 2:49:17 in video
 - Motion by M. Evans, seconded by H. Hensley, to adopt the agenda. Approved unanimously.
- 5. Superintendent's Report 2:49:41 in video
- 6. Approval of Consent Agenda 2:52:27 in video
 - Motion by T. Denson, seconded by L. Davis, to approve. Approved unanimously.
 - Field trips
 - Personnel report
 - Personnel contract list
 - Purchase of anatomy and physiolog lab equipment for the Athens Community Career Academy
 - Early Head Start / Head Start Continuation Grant application review and approval of intent to apply
 - Supporting documents attached in agenda link.

7. Individual Action Items - 2:53:03 in video

- Motion by P. Yager, seconded by H. Hensley, to approve the March 2024 Financial Report. Approved unanimously.
- Motion by P. Yager, seconded by C. Butts, to approve a third amendment to the fiscal year 2024 budget. Approved unanimously.
- Motion by T. Denson, seconded by P. Yager, to approve the district's proposed FY25 budget with three additions:
 - Boosting the proposed salary increase for classified, non-custodial employees from \$1,250 to \$1,750
 - Adding two additional paraprofessional positions at each elementary school for a total of 28 new positions
 - Adding an additional mental health counselor at Cedar Shoals and Clarke Central.
 - Approved unanimously.
- Motion by P. Yager, seconded by H. Hensley, to approve board policy recommendations from the Superintendent. Approved 6-2 with L. Davis and T. Denson opposed.
- Supporting documents attached in agenda link.
- 8. Executive Session 3:05:05 in video
- 9. Action following Executive Session 3:29:10 in video
 - Motion by P. Yager, seconded by M. Evans, to approve the Board Personnel Reort addendum. Approved unanimously.
- 10. Adjournment 3:30:55 in video